Clockwise from top left:  Kyle Fairbanks from Aloho rounds third base for home, while B&S Plumbing’s players try get the ball to the infield fast; the women of Aloho prepare for the championship game against B&S Plumbing; B&S Plumbing’s Ben Seale cathces a pop fly in cetnter field for an out; B&S Plumbing’s Tricia Radey hits the ball with power. Katie Emmets

B&S takes crown again with thrilling comeback

 After catching up from a 10-run deficit, B&S Plumbing came back to win the 2011 Skagway Softball League championship, 18 -16, against Aloho.
“We got up to bat in the bottom of the fifth and started piecing hits together,” said B&S pitcher Wade Brown.
With the bases loaded, D.J. Hall hit a grand slam home run, and B&S wound up scoring 9 runs in the bottom of the fifth, to close within a run, making the score 14-13.
B&S scored five runs in the sixth to take the lead, while Aloho managed just 2 runs in the seventh. The final score was 18-16.
B&S had a 12-1 record season, but they were undefeated in the two-day tournament, which made the championship game a double-elimination game.
“We weren’t worried much about losing that game,” Brown said. “Because we beat them earlier on in the tournament, we would have just had to play them again if they won.”
The tournament, which took place August 12-13, had teams playing back-to-back at the Seven Pastures ball fields.
This year’s season started out with 10 co-ed teams, but there were eight teams going into the tournament because two dropped out, Brown said.
Although the winning teams got trophies in past seasons, Brown said it got to a point where team members didn’t want them anymore because they had nowhere to put them.
To show off their achievement this year, B&S Plumbing will be wearing T-shirts that say “Skagway Softball League 2011 champions.”

Members of the SHS team take off on a practice run this week. KE

Skagway School cross country adds eight runners

The Skagway School has added three girls and 10 boys to their cross country roster for the 2011 season.
“This is a relatively new team with only three girls returning,” said coach Kent Fielding. “It’s going to be interesting to see what we look like with some training.”
The team’s three returning athletes, Rori Leaverton, Hannah O’Daniel and Jade Cook, will be joined by three additional girls, Anna Korsmo, Zoe Wassman, Maydea Lane and junior high student Rebecca Hollander.
Fielding said there was no boy’s team in 2010 because most of the team, who placed third in regionals in 2009, graduated with the exception of Danny Moore, who was living in Juneau during the season last year. Fielding added that without returners, it’s hard to get new participation.
“And Kaitlyn (Surdyk) and Rori were beasts as far as running goes,” he said. “It’s not fun if you’re a guy and are getting destroyed by girls.”
Fielding attributes the increase in boys cross-country participation to newly hired basketball coach Mark Jennings.
“Mark Jennings is making the boys run to get in shape,” he said.
On the boys team are Moore, Trevor Cox, Airk Cochran, Jake Grieser, Blake Fletcher, and Clark Germishuys.
The team is starting its workouts by running five days a week after school.
They are doing sprints for speed training, hills for strength training, and long runs for distance.
The meets consist of five-mile events, and there are four possible meets the team could attend. There will be no home meet this year.
For more information about meets check the upcoming events area of the Skagway School website at – KE

Local golfers gather prior to the tee-off of the annual Skagway Scramble on Aug. 6 at the Meadow Lakes course in Whitehorse. Organizer Jed Greenstreet said there was a “very good turnout” with 56 players. In first place was the team of Jim Sager, John O’Daniel, Dan Henry, and Rod Jensen at -5. Just behind them in second place was the team of Mark Jennings, Mitch Snyder, Andrew Cremata, and Ryan Rubel at -4, which beat the third place team (also at -4) of Jed Greenstreet, Wade Brown, Brian Jones, and Pete Griffard in a playoff. Closest to the pin awards went to Brian Jones and Dustin Hanson. Long driver winners were Kody Kosters and Marco Desmond. The organizers thanked Skagway Hardware, White Pass, Meadow Lakes and all the players for a great tournament. Next up for local golfers is the annual WHI-SKY Cup on Sept. 9-10. Photo courtesy Jed Greenstreet