THE LEADER – Michelle Swan of New Mexico holds her 26.65-pound king. AC

26-pounder leads inaugural derby

Skagway may not hold the biggest fish, it may not have the most fish, but when our city holds its own fishing derby you know it’s going to be unique.
The Pat Moore Memorial Game Fish Derby got underway on Friday Aug. 5, and it wasn’t long before the current leader was registered. Michelle Swan, who hails from New Mexico, caught the 26.65 pound king on a morning charter with Captain Monte Mitchell aboard his vessel Spindrift. Going into the final weekend, she is this year’s leader for the $1,500 prize and the trophy donated by Dennis and Nancy Corrington valued at $2,200.
On Sunday, Craig Jennison became the leader for the locals prize for $500 cash, donated by S.M.A.R.T. owner Stuart Brown. Jennison’s fish was caught aboard Greg Jones’ vessel Dock Holiday and weighed in at 20.1 pounds. The entry edged Shane Horton, whose 19.2 pound king had been uncontested since early Friday.
Four of the larger fish caught on Sunday were spawning females and were live-released after their weigh-in. One fish, a 25.7 pounder, was caught by Gale Vetter and put him in the lead for the “Heaviest Angler Award” for catching the most pounds of fish.
Two other live-released fish were caught by Meredith Marchioni in less than 40 minutes and put her in the lead for the female category of most pounds of fish entered by a female.
More than 160 tickets were sold during the first weekend of the tournament with 33 fish officially registered. Over $10,000 in cash and prizes will be given away during the event which will draw to a close at noon on Sunday August 14.
At 3:30 p.m. at Pullen Pond, the awards ceremony will be held along with a feast of king salmon.
Some of the prizes given away already include $50.00 daily given to a random entrant daily who fails to register any fish, $25.00 daily to the first fish registered by a contestant and a $100.00 cash prize won by Carl Hoover for bringing in the smallest legal fish on Saturday August 6.
The top prizes are still up for grabs as fishing will begin at 7 a.m. Friday August 12. Don’t forget to get your tickets validated on the fuel float in the small boat harbor.
Good luck and good fishing Skagway! - ANDREW CREMATA

Flower and Garden Show Aug. 14-16

Visitors can expect to see dahlias large as dinner plates, daisies by the dozen, radiant roses and pretty petunias as well as colorful vegetables and fruits at the 23rd annual Easter Star Flower and Garden Show.
Sponsored by the Naomi Chapter # 9 Order of the Eastern Star, the show is scheduled for August 14-16 in the A. B. Hall.
Flowers may be brought to the hall Saturday Aug. 13 from noon until 5 p. m. and Sun., Aug. 14, from 9 to 11 a. m. Jeff Ruff, Ivadell Rapuzzi and Elaine Brummett will begin judging at noon Sunday; and Stan Selmer will be master of ceremonies for the program at which awards are given at 1 p.m.
As usual there will be ribbons for first and second places; and
the big prizes include the Elma McMillan Award for best roses, the Lynn Ruff Award for Best of Show and the prestigious Edie Lee Award for Skagway’s Finest Garden.
The city has designated the first day of the show as Edie Lee Day. The recipient of the award in her name receives a lead crystal vase inscribed with the winner’s name. Edie Lee’s daughters, Marcia Berry and Kristin Jacquot, and previous winners make the selection for this award sponsored by Steve and Salli Reeder.
Chamber of Commerce members voted until July 31 for the Best Business Display, and the winner will receive the coveted Golden Trowel at the show.
A one dollar donation will be accepted at the door, and individuals will have an opportunity to make a $5 donation to have their name included in a drawing for a stained glass panel of a hot air balloon created by Debbie Ackerman, Worthy Matron of the OES Chapter. The winner will be announced at noon Aug. 16.
Ivadell Rapuzzi’s dolls and Connie Conard’s teacups will be on display, and the annual silver tea will be provided with donations appreciated.
All proceeds of the show go to the local OES scholarship fund.
“Last year we took in approximately $500,” said Ackerman. “We hope to increase that this year.”