Don Hather, speaker, congratulates special award winners: Front row: Cierra Hahn, Female Athlete of the Year, Spirit of Youth Award, and Victor Marshall Award; Teslyn Korsmo, Spirit of Youth Award; Amanda Jensen, George Thiel Memorial Award and Student of the Year Award. Back row: Tom Kirko, Male Athlete of the Year; Paige Hahn, Victor Marshall Award. Hather’s message to students: "Ask not what the team can do for you, but what you can do for the team.” – Ardyce Czuchna-Curl

2006-2007 Skagway City School Awards

Perfect Attendance: Amanda Jensen (freshman), Erica Harris and Chisato Yamashita (juniors) Near Perfect Attendance: Three or less absent days and tardies: Amanda Castle, Jonathan Castle, Rori Leaverton, Daniel Moore (7th grade); Jacob Cotton, Kayla Henricksen ( freshman); Meredith Hisman (sophomore); Cody Burnham) (junior); Ryan Forester, Makeah Twitchell (seniors). Superintendent’s Honor Roll - 3.76 or higher GPA for the first three quarters Jayce Ellis (7th grade); Kaitlyn Surdyk (8th grade); Paige Hahn, Emily Herbig (freshmen); Cierra Hahn, Erica Harris (juniors). Art - Josh Cotton; Drama/Debate/Forensics - Captain - Erica Harris, Most Improved - Trevor Van Houten, Award of Excellence - Shelby Surdyk; English - Allie Doland; Math - Sierra Moran, Allie Doland; Student Government - President Cierra Hahn, Vice-President Teslyn Korsmo, Treasurer Cody Burnham, Secretary Tom Kirko; Social Studies - Allie Doland; Spanish - Cody Burnham, Erica Harris, Shelby Surdyk, Arielle Stegall, Elise Doland, Sierra Moran, Paige Hahn, Emily Herbig, Quinn Weber, Teslyn Korsmo, Samantha Welch, Brandy Mayo, Jayce Ellis, Anna Korsmo, Kristen Moore; Technology - Trevor Van Houten; Yearbook - Cierra Hahn, Kaitlyn Surdyk, Jake Henricksen, Elise Doland, Emily Herbig, Lary Martinez, Arielle Stegall, Liana Stegall, Josh Cotton, Tom Kirko, Amanda Jensen; Cross-Country - Captain Cierra Hahn, Co-Captain Teslyn Korsmo, MVP Cierra Hahn, Most Improved Emily Herbig ; Wrestling - Outstanding Josh Cotton, Most Improved Tylor Forester; Cheerleading - Captain Allie Doland; Jr. High Basketball - Boys' Captain John Doland, Most Improved Devin Fairbanks, Most Valuable Player Bryce Jones; Girls- Most improved Rori Leaverton, MVP Jesse Ellis, Kaylie O'Daniel, Defender Kaitlyn Surdyk; Boys' Varsity Basketball - Most Improved Thomas Etue, Sportsmanship Makeah Twitchell, MVP Mickey Wilson, Captain Josh Cotton; Girls' Varsity Basketball - Captain Teslyn Korsmo, Co-Captain Sierra Moran, MVP Paige Hahn, Most Improved Cierra Hahn; Female Athlete of the Year - Cierra Hahn; Male Athlete of the Year - Tom Kirko; George Thiel Memorial Award (Best Student Athlete)- Amanda Jensen; Spirit of Youth Award - Teslyn Korsmo, Cierra Hahn; Principal's Award - Meredith Hisman ; Victor Marshall Award - (Best GPA) Paige Hahn, Cierra Hahn Student of the Year Award - Amanda Jensen.

(Scholarships listed on Graduation Page).

Runners score for Skagway
Skagway’s reborn track team notched some top 10 finishes and four team points in the boys division at the Southeast Region Meet in Juneau last weekend. It was good enough for a fifth place tie.
Long-distance runners Mickey Wilson and Quinn Weber placed in the finals of the 1600 and 3200 meter races.
Wilson was fifth in the 1600 with a time of 4:51.87, and Weber finished ninth in 5:15.31.
In the 3200 meter race, Wilson posted another fifth place finish in 10:34.80, while Weber was eighth in 11:18.08.
Coach Kent Fielding said Wilson missed fourth place by less than a tenth of a second in both races, starting his kick late and nearly passing the fourth place runner.
Jake Henricksen placed ninth in the discus, missing the finals by just a foot.