The SHS track team: Front row - Hailey Jensen, Kaitlyn Surdyk and Rori Leaverton; back row - Jayce Ellis, Cora Jacobi, Taylor Carlson, Amanda Hoover, coach Kent Fielding, JR Madden, Devin Fairbanks, KC Mayo, Zack Wassman, Gavin Murphy, and Sam Madden. Not pictured: Danny Moore, Jake Grieser. Photo courtesy SHS

Track season begins this weekend at Juneau meet

The Skagway High School track team will travel to Juneau this weekend for its first meet of the season. Then next weekend it is off to Haines for a meet, which also will attract some junior high participants. Finally, it is back to Juneau for the Region V meet on May 13-14, and then State in Fairbanks May 20-21 for those who place high enough at regionals.
Skagway has 15 kids out for track this season. Here’s coach Kent Fielding’s rundown of each runner and what they are doing:

Danny Moore - 1600, 3200, 4x400, Long Jump.
Zack Wassman - 100, 200, 400, 4x400, Long Jump.
Devin Fairbanks - 800, 4x400, 4x800.  
JR (Dwayne) Madden - 400, 4x400, 4x800, 4x200.
Sam Madden - 4x800, 4x200, 3200, 200.
Jake Greiser - 3200, 4x800, 4x200, 800.
Kenneth Mayo - Shot, Disc, 4x200.

Kaitlyn Surdyk - 1600, 3200, 800, 400.
Rori Leaverton - 100, 200, 400, Long Jump.
Cora Jacobi - Long Jump, 200.
Amanda Hoover - Shot, Disc.
Jayce Ellis - Shot, Disc. 

Taylor Carlson - 1600, 400.
Hailey Jensen - 1600, 800.
Gavin Murphy - 1600, 800.

KCIBR registration underway

The 2011 Kluane Chilkat International Bike Relay is now open for
registrations for solo, 2 person, 4 person, and 8 person teams.  There are limits on overall registration numbers and 8 person teams this year.  The relay takes place on June 18.
The early registration deadline is May 13 which will save you some dollars and also allow you to purchase one of this year’s rider shirts featuring original artwork by local artist Bill Oster.
For more information and to register a team, please go to