Wine and cheese, Yukon jazz vocals and 'Fogatron' on May 4
The Skagway Arts Council will be presenting a wine and cheese tasting event with live music by Yukon's Nicole Edwards Trio on Saturday evening, May 4, 2013. The event will begin at 7:00 pm at the cozy, comfortable Glacier Lounge at the Westmark Hotel.

Admission will be $15 ($13 for SAC members) which will cover an exciting variety of cheeses, sweet and salty morsels, tasty appetizers and several hours of good music from Nicole, pianist Annie Avery and upright bass player Rob Bergman.

A late addition warm-up act is Skagway's "Fogatron." A wide variety of wines and full bar will be available for purchase.


2013 North Words features top writers from region

Marcel Jolley added to faculty

Kathleen Dean Moore, Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at Oregon State University, believes that moral force is necessary to prevent toads, salmon, and cedars from slipping off the planet. Author of seven books, the Oregon writer-activist is the keynote speaker at the fourth annual North Words Writers Symposium, held in Skagway, Alaska May 29-June 1. Moore’s books have won the Oregon Book Award, the Pacific Northwest Booksellers’ Award, and the Sigurd Olson Nature Writing Award. Her works have also been published in Orion, Discover, The Sun, and the New York Times Magazine.
Moore is joined at the Skagway symposium by a faculty of Alaska authors that includes John Straley, Kim Heacox, Lynn Schooler, Andromeda Romano-Lax, David Hunsaker, Howard Weaver, Heather Lende, and Marcel Jolley. Faculty will serve on panels to discuss topics like overcoming writer’s block, the path to publication, assessing reader needs, and writing personal essays, screenplays, and fiction.
“North Words stands alone among writer gatherings,” said symposium program director Daniel Henry. “Participants take home winning ideas, success stories, methods, and deepened relationships with a whole network of talented writers. Moreover, Skagway knows how to host an unforgettable soiree.”
For more information, including registration, go to

Skagway residents interested in applying for a scholarship to the symposium should contact the Skagway Arts Council.

Faculty: Kathleen Dean Moore: Moral Ground, The Pine Island Paradox, Riverwalking, etc.
John Straley: The Woman Who Married a Bear, The Big Both Ways, etc.
Kim Heacox: The Only Kayak, An American Idea: The Making of the National Parks, etc.
Lynn Schooler: The Blue Bear, The Last Shot, Heartbroke Bay, etc.
Andromeda Romano-Lax: The Detour, The Spanish Bow, etc.
David Hunsaker: Screenplays The Firecracker Boys, Whistler in the Dark, graphic novel North End of the World
Howard Weaver: Former editor of Anchorage Daily News, Book: Write Hard Die Free.
Heather Lende: If You Lived Here, I’d Know Your Name; Take Good Care of the Garden and the Dogs

Late Addition: Marcel Jolley, formerly of Skagway, author of two short story collections.

Staff : Daniel Lee Henry: Pushcart Prize winner 2000, Pushcart Special Mention 2004, Best of Pushcart
Jeff Brady: Publisher-Editor-Bookseller, The Skagway News Co. & Lynn Canal Publishing, author of Skagway: City of the New Century
Buckwheat Donahue: Skagway Tourism Director
Katrina Pearson: Director of Marketing, Epicenter Press


MFB Fund accepting scholarship applications till May 5

Applications are now being accepted for scholarships from the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.
The MFB Fund was set up through the Juneau Community Foundation to support arts and education projects and programs in Skagway and northern Southeast Alaska, and to assist students and artists in our area with scholarships to help them improve their creative abilities.
All creative arts will be considered including writing, music, visual and performance arts. These include grants to help artists attend arts camps, schools, colleges, symposiums, or conferences.
Applications are available at the JCF website: Go to the Funds and Endowments section and then click on the Margaret Frans Brady Fund to download an application.
Application deadline has been extended to May 5, 2013 and should be emailed to A committee will select scholarship recipients in mid-May.