Hardware men sneak past SP’s,
White Pass women sweep Fairway

Men’s League Wrap-up
The playoffs started March 6 with a best-of-five game series between the regular season second place team, Sexual Pterodactyls (henceforth referred to as SP’s)  and the third place team, Eagles.
This was the first playoff series ever for the SP’s and it was over in a hurry as they swept three straight games. The SP.s were led in game one by Lars Lawson’s 203 and Beau Dennis with a 172 game. In game two, the Eagles put together a good game, but SP captain Tyson Ames rolled a 183 and the rest of the team were over averages to put the Eagles up against the wall.
Unfortunately for the Eagles, they could not get that first victory and the SP’s were on their way to the championship series. Congratulations to the Eagles for working hard in the regular season to earn that third and final playoff spot. Also a big thank you to Eagles team member Mike Welch for all his hard work on keeping the machines going and the alleys oiled!
The next evening, the SP’s began a best-of-seven series against the regular season champs Skagway Hardware Ravens who had clinched first place weeks ago and looked to keep it going in the playoffs. But the SP’s came into the series confident as they had recently sent the Ravens a message by defeating them 26-4  at the end of the regular season.
Games one and two seemed to show that the Ravens, veterans of many years of playoff pressure, were going to have an easy time with the young SP upstarts. Especially after the SP’s appeared to fall for the old “free-round-of-cold-shorties” trick. The Ravens were led in games one and two by John “O.D.” O’Daniel with 188 and 180 games. Mitch Snyder bowled well over his average in those two games as well. But in game three, the Ravens went cold. The SP’s were able to sneak away the win. They went into the week off down 2-1 in the series and ready to take up a more sober approach the following weekend.
The teams met again on March 13 to finish the series. There was not a drink to be seen on the SP table. The strategy paid off as the SP’s took the first game to tie the series at two games each. Tanner Hanson rolled a 197 and Reid Lawson a 180 to lead the flying dinosaurs.
Now it was a three game series and momentum seemed to be in favor of the SP’s.  But Raven Jed Greenstreet was up to the challenge. He rolled a monster 243 game which included six strikes in a row. All the SP’s scored above average but Jed’s effort was enough to carry the game for the Ravens by 6 pins!.
Momentum was back to the Ravens. It was do or die for the SP’s. It appeared they were going to force a game seven, especially when Jed fell off his last game by over a hundred pins. But the old veteran Mitch Snyder had one more good game left in him. His 212 game along with teammate Jim Sager’s 176 kept the match close to the 10th frame.  Tyson rolled another 183 and Beau a 178 for the SP’s.  This was going to be another very close game. After the scores were added it was determined that the Ravens had squeaked it out by one pin, 1029-1028! Two games decided by seven points! An amazing finish for the veteran team and a heart breaker for the young SP’s.
Upon accepting the championship trophy for the Skagway Hardware Ravens, team captain John O’Daniel said the trophy was going up on Grandpa Benny’s desk at the hardware store. A fitting tribute to long-time team sponsor and avid bowler Ben Lingle who passed away during this bowling season.
After the bowling was done, the league handed out awards that included:
• High Team game 1186 and series 3302 went to the Sexual Pterodactyls
• High scratch series- Jed Greenstreet 601
• High game scratch- Andrew Beierly 234
• High game with handicap - Stan Selmer 278
• High series with handicap - Stan Selmer 740
• Most improved average - Andrew Cremata plus 9
• High Average - Jed Green street - 168
• “Gotcha” leader - Jim Sager .667 – GARY HANSON

Women’s League Wrap-up
There were four teams this year: Fairway Market, Mama Jo’s Ho’s, Skagway North, and White Pass who competed in eight rounds of bowling over 24 weeks. It was a well-balanced league.
For the first three weeks, Fairway was in first, then for the next three weeks it was Skagway North. From the next 11 weeks, MJH was in the lead, and then fought for first place with White Pass. But during the last two weeks, Fairway snuck back in and grabbed first place. Skagway North settled comfortably in the cellar for the second half of the season.
So when the playoffs began, it came down to first place Fairway versus second place White Pass on March 29-30. In the best-of-seven series, White Pass jumped out to take the first three games on the first night, and then finished off the sweep right off the bat with a win on the second night.
During the season we had some great games by Jackie Schaefer and Lisa Whitehead, who bowled scratch 212 games, followed closely by Linda Meyer and Tina Mayo with a scratch 210.
All had lots of fun! You could always hear the claps and yells: “Great shot!” or “You were robbed” or “Shoulda been” if it didn’t go.
A special thanks to Mike Welch for keeping the lanes up and running for another year of fun and friendship in bowling! – DENISE WELCH

Outdoor Coming Events

KCIBR bike race registration opens
Registration is now open for the 2010 Kluane Chilkat International Bike Relay which is on June 19. Go to for more information on how to register a solo, 2-person, 4-person, or 8-person team. Early registration ends on May 21.

Yukon River Quest deadline extended
The registration deadline for the 12th annual Yukon River Quest has been extended from April 15 to May 1.
The decision was made by the Yukon River Marathon Paddling Association board to give a little more time for teams to enter this year’s race.
As of April 8, a total of 66 teams had fully registered and another six teams were in the process of registering, slightly less than a goal of at least 75 teams. Race directors ideally would like to see the field up around the 100-team limit.
There is still room for four teams in the solo classes (up to a 30-team solo limit), as well as all other classes. The complete breakdown of teams as of April 8 was as follows: five solo canoes (C1), 21 solo kayaks (K1), 18 tandem canoes (C2), 15 tandem kayaks (K2), and seven voyageur canoes (VC). So far, eight nationalities are represented in the 2010 field; Australia, Austria, Canada, Finland, South Africa, United Kingdom, and the United States.
Registration information and online entry forms are available via a link on the race website,
The 12th annual “Race to the Midnight Sun” begins on June 30 in Whitehorse. Except for two mandatory rest stops totaling just 10 hours, teams will race round-the-clock 740-kilometres to the finish line in historic Dawson City, making it the longest and toughest paddling marathon of its kind in the world. The event concludes July 4.
In other YRQ news;
• The Yukon River Quest Fund-raiser will be held the evening of April 24 at the Gold Rush Inn. There will be live music, a race slide show, and a silent auction, along with nibbles and an open bar. The fun starts at 8 p.m. If you are interested in donating items for the silent auction, please call Joanie Pelletier at 867-668-4175.
• The YRQ has also embarked on its annual bib campaign. Businesses may have their names on a solo paddler ($250), a tandem team ($400), or an entire voyageur team ($700) in this year’s race.
For more information, visit the race website and download a bib sponsorship form.